‘AWFUL tackle’ – Decision not to send off Tarkowski in Merseyside derby SLAMMED by pundits | OneFootball

‘AWFUL tackle’ – Decision not to send off Tarkowski in Merseyside derby SLAMMED by pundits | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: Hayters TV

Hayters TV

·02 de abril de 2025

‘AWFUL tackle’ – Decision not to send off Tarkowski in Merseyside derby SLAMMED by pundits

Imagem do artigo:‘AWFUL tackle’ – Decision not to send off Tarkowski in Merseyside derby SLAMMED by pundits

Former Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher and ex-Everton striker Duncan Ferguson say they cannot believe James Tarkowski managed to escape a red card for a tackle on Alexis Mac Allister.

Tarkowski slid in to win the ball but caught Mac Allister on the follow through with his studs in the first-half of the Merseyside derby.


Vídeos OneFootball


Referee Sam Barratt gave a yellow card which after a lengthy VAR check was confirmed as the correct decision.

Explaining the call, the Premier League Match Centre said: “The referee’s call of yellow card for a reckless foul by Tarkowski was checked by the VAR, with contact on the follow through after Tarkowski had played the ball deemed to be reckless.”

But Carragher slammed the decision, labelling the challenge “awful”.

“We’ll talk about VAR but in terms of the referee Sam Barratt, he’s in a brilliant position, he should be giving that on the pitch,” Carragher said.

“His position is fantastic and he has to see that. Has to. It’s a shocking tackle. We know it should be a red card, it’s not even really up for debate.

“It’s an awful tackle. Tarkowski knows what he’s doing there. He’s got previous as well actually against Everton for Burnley as well. We covered that on Monday Night Football.

“The referee should give it on the pitch but for Paul Tierney not to give it on VAR is shocking.”

Ferguson was also in agreement with his Sky Sports colleague, claiming Tarkowski “knew what he was doing”.

“There’s no argument, it’s a straight red. We noticed it right away.

“How have they not given that decision? It’s a straight red. Absolutely. He knows what he’s doing.

“Back in our day you might have got away with that because you’ve got the ball but he knows what he’s doing, he’s come right through him, and that could have been a leg breaker.

“It’s a straight red all day long.”

Saiba mais sobre o veículo